University of Copenhagen

Posted on Feb 4, 2015

The World100 Representative

Jasper Steen Winkel - Director of Communication

Jasper is head of The Communications Division which is responsible for the overall branding of the university and internal and external communications including press relations, public affairs, events, graphic design and outreach towards high schools etc. The division develops IT systems, creates guidelines and coordinates the work of approximately 110 press officers and web editors at faculty and department level.

Jasper started his professional career in the Danish Ministry of Finance, followed by a career as a journalist and later managing editor of a Danish business newsletter. He has also worked as external lecturer at Copenhagen Business Schools MPA-programme (Master of Public Administration).

Member Rep Placeholder


Key facts about the University of Copenhagen



Research Member since 2013



Over 40,000 students and 9,000 employees



9 Nobel Prize winners



One of the largest institutes for research in the Nordic countries


About University of Copenhagen

The University of Copenhagen is one of the largest institutes of research and education in the Nordic countries, with four campuses around the city comprising of North Campus, City Campus, South Campus and Frederiksberg Campus, museums, gardens and libraries.

Founded in 1479 as a studium generale, it is known as the second oldest institute for higher education in Scandinavia.

International Partnerships

The University of Copenhagen receives more than 1,200 exchange students annually and sends about 900 students abroad to our international partner universities. 

The University participates in a number of international networks and alliances where we collaborate with key partner institutions, benchmark, share knowledge and gain influence on education and research policies. UCPH is a member of IARU, a network of eleven international research-intensive universities for research excellence, LERU, UNICA, Erasmus+ and Nordplus.

Notable Research Areas

A number of researchers associated with the University have achieved such remarkable research results that they have been awarded the Nobel Prize. 

Niels Finsen, Nobel Prize in Medicine 1903
August Krogh, Nobel Prize in Medicine 1920
Niels Bohr, Nobel Prize in Physics 1922
Johannes Fibiger, Nobel Prize in Medicine 1926
Henrik Dam, Nobel Prize in Medicine 1943
George de Hevesy, Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1943
Aage Bohr, Nobel prize in Physics 1975
Ben R. Mottelson, Nobel Prize in Physics 1975
Niels K. Jerne, Nobel Prize in Medicine 1984